The weekly Review

Broken

by Megan Hart

18+

cover27594-medium

Publisher: Harlequin Enterprises Australia

Website: Broken

Facebook: Megan Hart

Twitter: https://twitter.com/megan_hart

Goodreads: Broken

Amazon: Broken

Blurb:

This month my name is Mary. My name is different every month—Brandy, Honey, Amy…sometimes Joe doesn’t even bother to ask—but he never fails to arouse me with his body, his mouth, his touch, no matter what I’m called or where he picks me up. The sex is always amazing, always leaves me itching for more in those long weeks until I see him again.

My real name is Sadie, and once a month over lunch Joe tells me about his latest conquest. But what Joe doesn’t know is that, in my mind, I’m the star of every X-rated one-night stand he has revealed to me, or that I’m practically obsessed with our imaginary sex life. I know it’s wrong. I know my husband wouldn’t understand. But I can’t stop. Not yet.

My Review:

blue_drakblue_drakblue_drak

Thanks to Netgalley and Harlequin Enterprises Australia, I was able to read this book for an honest review.

Sadie is a lonely wife, after a tragic accident that left her husband a quadriplegic.  Adams life is turned upside down in a skiing accident, he is angry and takes it out on his wife and carers, he is positive that his wife is having an affair.

Once a month Sadie meets up with Joe at a park bench where Joe tells her about his monthly conquests, with Sadie fantasizing that she is his conquests.   She feels torn between her imagination and the fact that she feels like she is cheating on Adam, this causes lots of stress and emotional turmoil for Sadie.

I loved the raw emotion of this story, the anguish that Adam puts Sadie through when she is trying to do the best for him.  She uses Joes stories as a way of escaping her life for a while living in a fantasy world where she is wild and free.  The only downside of this story and yes I feel like a twenty-nine year old prude saying this, is that i couldn’t stomach the swearing, yes I say the usual words but the one word in our vocabulary that I won’t say is the ‘C’ word, I know that dirty talk is supposed to be sexy and empowering to the woman but that word makes it sound trashy and unromantic.

This is a good, raw, emotional romance and I would still recommend it to those who like hardcore erotica.

What do you think about swearing in erotica? sexy or not?

Leave a Reply

