Age of Eve Return of the Nephilim – DNF

DNF – Did not Finish This is not a review just a note on why I could not finish this book.

18 +

Age of Eve Return of the Nephilim

by D M Pratt

Layout 1 (Page 1)

Expected Publication: January 2013

Publisher: Broadthink

Goodreads:

Amazon:

Blurb:

 Eve Dowling, a talented writer for a successful magazine that covers New Orleans society events, is leading an exciting life filled with friends, family and work–until it is turned upside down by a fateful encounter with a stunningly handsome mystery man who ignites her most sensual fantasies.

When Eve awakes naked, sexually ravaged and alone in the garden of one of New Orleans’ most historic homes, she begins her search to uncover who this mystery man really is. She tracks him through the dark side of Old Algiers with the aid of one of its most famous Voodoo priestesses to an abandoned sanitarium in the heart of the swamplands surrounding New Orleans. It is there she first confronts two creatures, first described in ancient Hebrew and Christian texts as the Nephilim or “fallen sons of God,” who vye to possess her body and soul and keep her from true love with her mystery man.

Is Eve’s battle with the Nephilim to save her mystery lover–and her own life–real or imagined? Does Eve really hold a key to saving humanity from a loveless existence? Or is it all simply a nightmare dream? Read the first book in this series and decide for yourself

First Line:

Alone in the entry surrounded by hundreds of people, Eve stood wearing a dress that made her feel absolutely naked.

My Review:

I received this book from Netgalley for an honest review.

One thing I can’t stand is not finishing a book, and to be honest my OCD will probably catch up and I will try finishing it again at a later date.   I really wanted to enjoy this book, it held a lot of promise with being an erotic paranormal romance about nephilim.   There are a lot of good reviews for this story as well as a lot that has held the same opinion as me, so I always encourage a reader to try a book for themselves because not everything is suited to everyone.

I read just over 20% of this e-book before I gave up, which is why this isn’t a review I don’t believe in reviewing a book when you haven’t read it.  I just could not get into the story, my mind kept wondering and i would read a few pages when I would realise that I wasn’t paying attention.    I need a story to grab me and keep me interested, I have a busy life, I have two children under six with mild autism. As well as working full-time.  I can’t justify forcing myself to stick to a book that doesn’t interest me.  (even though it greatly bothers me to do so.)

I would like to thank netgalley and Broadthink in giving me the chance to read and review this story but unfortunately will not be able to finish it. If I do later on I will be happy to leave a review in the usual places.

 

 

 

One thought on “Age of Eve Return of the Nephilim – DNF

  1. Pingback: April Wrap Up | Aussie Bookworm

Leave a Reply

