The Elite – Review

The Elite

A selection Novel

by Kiera Cass

16248068

Expected Publication: 1st of May 2013

Length: 323 pages

ISBN: 9780007466733

Publisher:  Harper Collins Publishers Australia




The Elite from Fishpond.com.au

From Amazon

Source: ARC From Publisher for an honest review.

Synopsis from Goodreads

Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection. All but six have been sent home. And only one will get to marry Prince Maxon and be crowned princess of Illea.

America still isn’t sure where her heart lies. When she’s with Maxon, she’s swept up in their new and breathless romance, and can’t dream of being with anyone else. But whenever she sees Aspen standing guard around the palace, and is overcome with memories of the life they planned to share. With the group narrowed down to the Elite, the other girls are even more determined to win Maxon over—and time is running out for America to decide.

Just when America is sure she’s made her choice, a devastating loss makes her question everything again. And while she’s struggling to imagine her future, the violent rebels that are determined to overthrow the monarchy are growing stronger and their plans could destroy her chance at any kind of happy ending.

First Line:

The Angeles Air was Quiet, and for a while I lay still, listening to the sound of Maxon’s breathing.

 My Review:

Heart-blue-iconHeart-blue-iconHeart-blue-iconHeart-blue-iconHeart-blue-icon

The Plot:

Here is a Secret, I hate Reality T.V shows, I can’t stand them, for something that is supposed to be ‘reality’ looks very staged and unrealistic to me.  When I first read the selection, I bought it because everyone was talking about it. (good and Bad) what I do love is controversy.  I was extremely surprised when I started to read it at ten in the morning and found myself finishing it at five that night. I could not put it down.

I was extremely excited when Harper Collins Publishing Australia sent me a copy of The Elite to read. This Book incorporates the one thing I really can’t stand (reality T.V) and the one Thing I love (Dystopian Fiction) and brought them together beautifully.

The Elite did not focus as much on the reality television side of the plot but more on the dystopian, the nefarious plotting of the southerners and northerners to bring down the Illea monarchy, and the desperation of the people.  I loved how America starts to uncover the history of Illea through a secret diary.

America’s Love Life:

My guilty pleasure is I love Love Triangles, The drama and the fighting between the men for their one true love.  (they are occasionally drawn out too long which then loses my interest and annoys me.)  Keira however manages to change your heart along with America’s one minute you are hoping that she picks Maxon, for the hope of her country and that he is so sweet. The next you are hoping for good old reliable Aspen who stands in the shadows, and pines after and protects her in secret, especially after Maxon makes some highly questionable decisions.  Usually I pick a book boyfriend early on in the series and stick to my opinion often losing when the protagonist chooses against my wishes.  But this is one series where my opinion keeps changing which is refreshing for me.

The Competition:

The Competition to become Princess is heating up with a lot more of the girls showing their true faces, (at least to the other girls).  I have in my head the girls I hate the most and the ones I would like to win if America chooses Aspen.  I tell you now I will be happy to see Celeste go, but then she sure does make a scene and I guess every story needs a bad guy.

The Verdict:

Get this book! it is Amazing, it is the perfect mix of dark dystopian and light reading I have read both Selection books in one sitting.

7 thoughts on “The Elite – Review

    • ha ha ha I love guilty pleasures I admit I watched the very first season of big brother australia shhh don’t tell anyone. If anyone asked me I would say I don’t watch that rubbish lol. I think it is a good series, there are mixed reviews everywhere though but I think a lot of her bad reviews are because of a fight she had on goodreads when The Selection came out with a blogger. I like to make up my own mind though and give credit where credit is due. I believe it has been picked up to be made into a t.v show.

  1. Pingback: April Wrap Up | Aussie Bookworm

  2. Pingback: Dystopian Challenge 2013 | Aussie Bookworm

Leave a Reply

