Indigo Spell – Review

The Indigo Spell

A Bloodlines Novel

by Richelle Mead

Expected Publication: February 2013

Length: 401 pages

ISBN:159514319X

Publisher:  Penguin Group Australia



Synopsis from Goodreads

In the aftermath of a forbidden moment that rocked Sydney to her core, she finds herself struggling to draw the line between her Alchemist teachings and what her heart is urging her to do. Then she meets alluring, rebellious Marcus Finch–a former Alchemist who escaped against all odds, and is now on the run. Marcus wants to teach Sydney the secrets he claims the Alchemists are hiding from her. But as he pushes her to rebel against the people who raised her, Sydney finds that breaking free is harder than she thought. There is an old and mysterious magic rooted deeply within her. And as she searches for an evil magic user targeting powerful young witches, she realizes that her only hope is to embrace her magical blood–or else she might be next.

Populated with new faces as well as familiar ones, the Bloodlines series explores all the friendship, romance, battles, and betrayals that made the #1 New York Times bestselling Vampire Academy series so addictive—this time in a part-vampire, part-human setting where the stakes are even higher and everyone’s out for blood

First Line:

This wasn’t the first time I’d been pulled out of bed for a crucial mission.

 My Review:

Heart-blue-iconHeart-blue-iconHeart-blue-iconHeart-blue-iconHeart-blue-icon


I must admit, I was a bit worried about a Vampire Academy spin-off,  I loved the series and wasn’t sure that a spin-off could work.  I am so glad that I picked up the bloodlines books, because they are great.

Sydney is starting to doubt the alchemists, so she sets out to gain evidence to see if there is a link between the Alchemists and the Warriors.  While wondering who she is, and how much the tattoo controls her, she also has to deal with an evil witch and a forbidden love.

There is a lot happening in the plot of this story, Sydney must be very unlucky.  It is great to see Sydney’s personality emerging from an uptight geek, to a confident, brave, and a teeny bit more carefree woman.

Sydney is not the only character that is evolving in this series,  I am liking Adrian more and more, I was always a fan of his in Vampire Academy, but he was often portrayed as a playboy that gets drunk, smokes and not much else.  throughout this series and I believe mostly in this book, he is becoming a more stable, passionate and playful person, I love the character interactions between Sydney and Adrian, and I love how he loves her for who she is.

This is a great series and I recommend it to anyone who loves vampire books.

6 thoughts on “Indigo Spell – Review

  1. I loved this one too (though book 2 is my favorite in Bloodlines). My favorite parts were the magic development and the back and forth between Adrian and Sydney. I loved their banter as much as I loved the gentler moments. This one wasn’t as funny to me as book 2, but Adrian was the shining star (I’m biased). What did you think of the Marcus storyline?

    • I am an Adrian fan too. I don’t mind the Marcus storyline but i have trouble liking Marcus, I did have trouble with Angelines storyline, I find it hard to believe she could get into that much trouble, as well as I don’t feel like her character contributes much, but I like Eddie so I could be biased there, lol.

      • Marcus did nothing for me. I didn’t understand his supposed coolness. And what the heck with Angeline? I enjoyed the trouble she fell into with the band that came to the school (was that in Golden Lily?). That was funny to me, but if she was so eager to please, and she wanted the assignment so much, why all the stupid mistakes? I did not like the romance there. I wish that character evolved differently. I’m a total Eddie fan, but he’s not getting enough screen time. I’d like to see Adrian kick ass more. There’s a Scooby-Doo dvd where Shaggy goes nuts and has fits of aggressiveness. Something like that would be cool to see in Adrian.

      • I would love Adrian to show a bit of aggressiveness to, something in relation to Sydney would be good. The others in the story seem to have dropped off a lot, and it seemed to be mostly about Adrian and Sydney. But then again I guess the point was to show how much Sydney has changed and understanding who she is now.

  2. Pingback: May Wrap Up | Aussie Bookworm

  3. Pingback: REVIEW: Bloodlines (+ The Golden Lily, and The Indigo Spell) by Richelle Mead | booknomnom

Leave a Reply

