Across the Universe – Review

Dystopian

Across the Universe

By Beth Revis

Expected Publication: January 2011

Length: 398 pages

ISBN:1595143971

Publisher: Razor Bill

Source: Brought



images (5)

Synopsis from Goodreads

A love out of time. A spaceship built of secrets and murder.

Seventeen-year-old Amy joins her parents as frozen cargo aboard the vast spaceship Godspeed and expects to awaken on a new planet, three hundred years in the future. Never could she have known that her frozen slumber would come to an end fifty years too soon and that she would be thrust into the brave new world of a spaceship that lives by its own rules.

Amy quickly realizes that her awakening was no mere computer malfunction. Someone-one of the few thousand inhabitants of the spaceship-tried to kill her. And if Amy doesn’t do something soon, her parents will be next.

Now Amy must race to unlock Godspeed’s hidden secrets. But out of her list of murder suspects, there’s only one who matters: Elder, the future leader of the ship and the love she could never have seen coming

 My Review:

Heart-blue-iconHeart-blue-iconHeart-blue-iconHeart-blue-icon


I was a bit weary going into this book, I am not a big fan of Science Fiction.  I did however enjoy Maria Snyder’s “Inside out” and “Outside in”, I have also read a lot of reviews that said it was great.

I am glad I did buy this book I was looking for something a bit different, Something to break up the Vampire, Zombies and Romance which is all I have read this year.  I liked the Idea of Amy Joining her parents in being cryogenically frozen to reach a new world, that has been found to be able to support life.  I would have liked to know more about what was happening on earth, It was hinted at the Economy failing and the world being funded by one Company.

The Romance side of this story was not overpowering, and I felt that Amy’s reaction to Elder was believable, since she had left a boyfriend on earth.

The only problem that I did have with this novel was the whole Season part. I did not believe this was needed In the novel, maybe a less graphic explanation was needed to explain that the humans on the sheep were being treated like mindless animals, I think for a Book that Is marketed towards a Y.A audience should not have such open sex scenes involved, But of course that could be just me and my prudish ways.  I do know That I would not want my daughter reading it until she was at least 16.

I loved this book and will now buy the next in the series, I suggest anyone wanting to try something a bit different should try it too.

 

4 thoughts on “Across the Universe – Review

  1. Pingback: May Wrap Up | Aussie Bookworm

  2. Pingback: Dystopian Challenge 2013 | Aussie Bookworm

Leave a Reply

