Dead Ever After – Review

PARANORMAL ROMANCE

DEAD EVER AFTER

THE SOUTHERN VAMPIRE MYSTERIES

By CHARLINE HARRIS

15985348

Expected Publication: May 2013

Length: 338 pages

ISBN:9781937007881

Publisher: Ace Publishing

Source: Brought

Genre:  Paranormal Romance

Other Books in Series:

  1. Dead until dark
  2. Living dead in Dallas
  3. Club Dead
  4. Dead to the world
  5. Dead as a doornail
  6. Definitely Dead
  7. All together Dead
  8. From Dead To Worse
  9. Dead and Gone
  10. Dead in the Family
  11. Dead Reckoning
  12. Deadlocked

Read If you liked: Anita Blake by Laurell K Hamilton or True Blood (t.v)



images (5)

Synopsis from Goodreads

There are secrets in the town of Bon Temps, ones that threaten those closest to Sookie—and could destroy her heart…

Sookie Stackhouse finds it easy to turn down the request of former barmaid Arlene when she wants her job back at Merlotte’s. After all, Arlene tried to have Sookie killed. But her relationship with Eric Northman is not so clearcut. He and his vampires are keeping their distance…and a cold silence. And when Sookie learns the reason why, she is devastated.

Then a shocking murder rocks Bon Temps, and Sookie is arrested for the crime.

But the evidence against Sookie is weak, and she makes bail. Investigating the killing, she’ll learn that what passes for truth in Bon Temps is only a convenient lie. What passes for justice is more spilled blood. And what passes for love is never enough…

 
 My Review:

Heart-blue-iconHeart-blue-iconHeart-blue-iconHeart-blue-iconHeart-blue-icon


I was terrified to read this story because of the bad reviews that I have read. I didn’t understand why everyone was hating it because I tried to stay away from spoilers. I have loved this series since I started reading them seven years ago, since then they have become my favourite series by far, I hate seeing it end but I don’t believe it could have ended any better, I don’t want to give away any spoilers So this is going to be hard to Review, I will have Spoilers from earlier books.

Sookies Life 

Sookie is the main character, she is a waitress for Merlottes Bar and Diner, She is a Telepath and part fairy, her life has been horrible. Full of violence and mistreatment, But along her adventures she has changed from an Insecure waitress, to a Strong, Loyal, Loving Kickass Heroine. She never wants to be a Vampire because she loves the sun, her family and being human/fae.

The Men in Sookies Life

Bill 

Bill is a Vampire and Sookie’s first love. The first few books of the Series I thought Bill was great, he was loving and trying to make himself into a good mainstreaming Vampire. Later Bill, after a few revelations, Bill messed up badly and broke Sookies heart. Bill has been trying to get back with Sookie ever since. I don’t think Bill would make a great lifetime partner for Sookie, although he loves Sookie he can become very obsessed with his job, as well as selfish.

Alcide 

Alcide is a hot sexy werewolf, He is Packmaster for the Shreveport Pack. Although Alcide is a wolf and alive I don’t think I would like to see Sookie Settle with Alcide, he has a lot of emotional baggage, plus as Packmaster he is always going to be in danger and the Wolves are just too violent for a human to be part of long-term.

Quinn

Quinn was a good-looking distraction.

Eric

I have always through the whole series been Team Eric with his warped sense of humor, His strong position with the Vampires, Sexy, Confident and just a tad Evil. He has the whole loyal, loving bad boy thing happening and he does it so well. He is more the type of Vampire I like not afraid to drink straight from the Vein, not afraid to kill, he is a big scary Vamp that you want on your side. But as much as I love Eric, Sookie doesn’t want to be a Vampire. Really how well could a human and Vampire last together, plus Eric is impatient and doesn’t like being told no.  Eric is such a wonderful sexy vampire fantasy, but he is not one to settle down to marriage forever with a human. I don’t see him as relationship material, He is wild and should not be tied down. If Sookie wanted to turn into a Vampire I would want her to spend eternity with Eric. In the last few books I have been losing Interest in Eric because when placed into a loving relationship with Sookie, he became soft, I didn’t see him as a bad boy anymore just whipped and I hated it.

Sam

If I could imagine a happy ending for Sookie as a human, This is my pick Sam is beautiful, loyal, Kickass, Sexy and Protective.  He has always been on the sideline of Sookie’s life ready to jump in when she needs him. He has bad luck with choosing the wrong woman, but has shown on more than one occasion that he has strong feelings for Sookie. Sam can give Sookie everything she wants in life, Security, Protection, Babies and the sunshine.

I loved the plot of Dead Ever After, I thought that loose ends were tied up nicely, I wasn’t left hanging not knowing what was going to happen in Sookie’s life. The only problem I had with the plot was that I found Sookie to be unemotional, she is usually a very emotional person and after the turmoil of Eric trying to break the engagement with the Queen, I felt sookie was quite out of character in the way she was reacting. Honestly I could not have been happier by the ending, I can now put the Sookieverse to rest, knowing everything is alright in their world.

On a side note I would love to see a spin-off with Hunter growing up I think that would be great.

What did you think of Sookie’s happy ever after?

 

5 thoughts on “Dead Ever After – Review

  1. Hey, you’re back! I’m so glad to see you giving this 5 stars. I added this series to my breakup list, but I’ve had a change of heart, especially hearing a true fan loving the last book. I only wish I wasn’t such a slow reader. I like your spin-off idea, or at least something supernatural. Happy anniversary!

    • Thanks robyn I had trouble reading the last two books, but I pushed through, The reviews are saying that everything was rushed, and tied up too nicely, but for the last book thats what I want no loose ends. so I liked it. I hope you enjoy it.

  2. I’m looking forward to the end of this series… I have to read the last 2 books. But, I have just got my non-reader hubby to read these books and he’s well into book 2. Will be getting them soon, so he can read them too!!

    Naomi @ Nomi’s Paranormal Palace

  3. Pingback: June Wrap Up | Aussie Bookworm

Leave a Reply

