The Island – Review

Dystopian

The Island 

By Jen Minkman

17825118

Expected Publication: June 2013

Length: 105 pages

ISBN:1483959813

Publisher: Createspace

Source: ARC from Netgalley

Genre:  Dystopian

Read If you liked:  Star Wars



images (5)

Synopsis from Goodreads

‘I walk toward the sea. The endless surface of the water extends to the horizon, whichever way I look.

Our world is small. We are on our own, and we only have ourselves to depend on. We rely on the Force deep within us, as taught to us by our forefathers.

If I were to walk westward from here, I would come across a barrier – the Wall. Behind it, there are Fools. At least, that’s what everyone says.

I have never seen one.’

Leia lives on the Island, a world in which children leave their parents to take care of themselves when they are ten years old. Across this Island runs a wall that no one has ever crossed. The Fools living behind it are not amenable to reason – they believe in illusions. That’s what The Book says, the only thing left to the Eastern Islanders by their ancestors.
But when a strange man washes ashore and Leia meets a Fool face to face, her life will never be the same. Is what she and her friends believe about the Island really true?

Or is everyone in their world, in fact, a Fool?

(Please note: this novella contains a few references to the famous sci-fi movie Star Wars which are pivotal to the plot. None of the characters in The Island are in any way related to the characters in the movie.)

 
 My Review:

Heart-blue-iconHeart-blue-icon


I did not read any Synopsis, or Extracts before starting this book, but if I had I probably would not have read it in the first place. The Island nearly became my second DNF for the year because at 30% on my Kindle the book took a horrible turn in the plot.  The Island starts off as a fairly normal dystopian except that children are not permitted to live with their parents they are sent off to live in a manor in the woods, where their leader follows from a book to teach the children how to live independently by relying on the force within themselves.  Thinks start to go wrong when a fool (someone who lives on the other side of the island, who have different beliefs, Infiltrates the manor, and makes the main character question what her own belief system is. I really enjoyed most of this story, when I hit the turning point I had to push myself to keep reading because the religious book that they follow is infact a Star Wars book that they have based their whole culture on. Ahhhhh! I hate Star Wars. I kept reading because I remembered a documentary that was about one of the world wars in which a Aboriginal tribe witnessed a war plane landing, the soldiers provided the tribe with food before taking off again. For years this tribe worshiped this plane and soldiers as gods because that is all they knew. I figured that the rest of the story would be something like this because otherwise it would just be rubbish.

I really did not enjoy this story because of the Star Wars part of the plot although it was amusing.  I think that it had a promising Storyline had it not involved starwars.

 

2 thoughts on “The Island – Review

  1. Pingback: Dystopian Challenge 2013 | Aussie Bookworm

  2. Pingback: June Wrap Up | Aussie Bookworm

Leave a Reply

