The Testing – Review

Dystopian

The Testing

By joelle charbonneau

Expected Publication: June 2013

Length: 336 pages

ISBN:0547959109

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Books for Children

Source: ARC from Netgalley

Genre:  Dystopian

Series: The Testing

Other books in Series: The Testing Guide (0.5) and Independent Study (Jan 2014)

Read If you liked:  Hunger Games and Divergent



images (5)

Synopsis from Goodreads

Keep your friends close and your enemies closer. Isn’t that what they say? But how close is too close when they may be one in the same?

The Seven Stages War left much of the planet a charred wasteland. The future belongs to the next generation’s chosen few who must rebuild it. But to enter this elite group, candidates must first pass The Testing—their one chance at a college education and a rewarding career.

Cia Vale is honored to be chosen as a Testing candidate; eager to prove her worthiness as a University student and future leader of the United Commonwealth. But on the eve of her departure, her father’s advice hints at a darker side to her upcoming studies–trust no one.

But surely she can trust Tomas, her handsome childhood friend who offers an alliance? Tomas, who seems to care more about her with the passing of every grueling (and deadly) day of the Testing. To survive, Cia must choose: love without truth or life without trust

 
 My Review:

Heart-blue-iconHeart-blue-iconHeart-blue-iconHeart-blue-iconHeart-blue-icon

I have read so many bad reviews for this book, but I am happy to say that I Loved  it so much it is going on my Favourite Shelf.  Yes the Apocalyptic Dystopian is being churned out of Authors minds onto print more and more, and as fast as they come out I am sure going to try to read them.  When you have read as many books as myself and other bloggers, you are going to start noticing predictable elements to a story, Love Triangle anyone? but as long as they hold a few surprises and can keep me reading while people are talking to me, as well as the first thing I grab in the morning and the last thing I grab at night (sorry loving hubby I do love you lots) I find that I can still love new books in the same genres, If I am getting burnt out in a genre I give it a rest for a while, I am happy to say I am not at that point with dystopias yet.

Anyway onto my Review, I could not put this book down, Yes the part of the testing went on for a while, but I believe this gave me a deeper insight on how Cia thought and what happened to the world.  Cia is a new graduate of her class and is looking forward to continuing on to University.  Her father is a University Graduate who helps to revitalise the land after mass bombings destroyed the world.  Cia is Intelligent, trusting and very mechanically minded.

The Testing is a number of tests each picked student from many colonies gets to go though to see if they have what it takes to be a leader for their new world and gaining a place in University.  The colonists are under the impression that the tests are mild and Intellect based, untill they get there and they take on a sinister edge.   The Government believe that the world fell because the leaders did not have what it takes to survive and ensure the survival of its citizens, so to be Admitted into the University the Candidates must prove beyond doubt that they can withstand all tasks that are thrown at them, which can have lethal consequences if you fail the tests.

The Testing is a heart pounding Adventure that leaves you wanting more.  I loved it and I would highly recommend you take a chance on this book.

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “The Testing – Review

  1. Pingback: Dystopian Challenge 2013 | Aussie Bookworm

  2. Great review!! It sounds like a book I would enjoy! I love to pick up a book and get so stuck into the story that you can’t put it down!!

    Naomi @ Nomi’s Paranormal Palace

    I was going to say go Blues…. but we are losing 14-0 ATM… will wait and see 😉

  3. I’ve seen a couple bad reviews for this one, but I skipped reading them because I read Lexxie’s 5 star review first. After this, I’m totally sold. I’m a nut about those reads that quiet all the chatter around me. I remember when I read Hunger Games. I would lift the book in front of both boys (John was still crawling). “I can’t stop reading! Cook your own.” Didn’t work, but I tried.

    • lol, I know what you mean, my dear husband tried to make conversation with me and I just nod, then later he will mention it again and I would have no idea what he was talking about. I do feel guilty but they don’t like it when I talk through a movie. lol

  4. Pingback: June Wrap Up | Aussie Bookworm

Leave a Reply

