Riding on Air by Maggie Gilbert – Review

young adult

Riding on Air

By Maggie Gilbert

17561305Expected Publication: April 2013

Length: 168 pages

Publisher: Harlequin Australia

Source: Gifted for honest review by Harlequin Australia and Netgalley

Genre:  Young Adult

Read If you liked: Sweet Young Adult romances


 images (5)

Synopsis from Goodreads

For readers of Jenny Downham, John Greene and Maureen McCarthy, a poignant young adult romance about following your dreams and realising what really matters.

What can you do when your own hands are the enemy? Hold on tight, for as long as it takes.

Melissa has secrets. Sure it’s pretty obvious she has Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis, but no one knows how bad it is or how many pills she takes for the pain. She’s determined to make her horse Jinx into a champion and she dreams that her childhood friend William will one day see her, rather than her condition.

So when William asks her out and Jinx is shortlisted for selection in an elite training program, it seems Melissa’s dreams have come true. But when her secrets are exposed, all those dreams come crashing down around her. Can William ever forgive her? And can she learn about letting go in time to truly ride on air when it matters most

 
 My Review:

Heart-blue-iconHeart-blue-iconHeart-blue-icon

I was so excited to receive this book, not only because it is based in Australia, but because the Main Protagonist Melissa, has Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis. As a young sufferer of Rheumatoid Arthritis myself it makes it very easy to feel for Melissa and her struggles,  As a young teenager, she is also refusing to give into her illness and give up on her dreams of being a dressage rider, but denial of her condition, has her lying to the people she loves most.

Riding on air is a sweet and at time heartbreaking romance story.  Rheumatoid Arthritis is a cruel disease to have at any age but to have it when you are just starting your life is just plain tragic. Of course it is not as bad as some diseases out there, but as Melissa finds that learning your limits and letting go of your dreams is truly heartbreaking.

Melissa’s Arthritis has been getting worse but Melissa is scared that if she tells anyone how bad it is, then her parents will not let her ride her horse anymore.  Melissa starts hiding pain killers so that no one will know how bad the pain has gotten. Except Melissa can no longer handle her horse, and after falling off too many time people start to worry about her.

Anyone who like short sweet romances will love Maggie Gilberts Riding on Air.

SIGNATURE

 

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Riding on Air by Maggie Gilbert – Review

  1. I’ve suffered from painful accidents when I was a kid, but that is nothing compared to chronic pain that steals the days away. It’s hard reading stories where the MC goes down the wrong path. I can barely handle it at the speed a movie delivers the story, but in a book, I’m swearing at the pages and chewing my nails. Great review, Jodie.

    • Its worse with this book because I know how hard it is to admit defeat and it is even harder to get a sense of peace from making that decision. thanks for dropping in Robyn and i know what you mean about swearing at the book lol

  2. Pingback: July Wrap Up | Aussie Bookworm

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s