Judging books by their Covers from the view of a 4 and 6 year old.

book descussions

 

I admit it I love Covers I will buy a book just because something about its cover appeals to me, even without reading the blurb.  It is easy for us as adults to look at the cover of a book and deduce what the story is about.  We look at the colours used, the pictures and the title and have a good idea about the novel.  But what if you look at the covers with innocent, unbiased eyes? and take the title out of the equation what do you get about the story then?

I decided to test this with my four and six-year olds to see what they got from the novel covers, after they gave me a description on what they thought the story was about I gave them the title and asked them again.

 

17309379Bear Grylls is a man who has always sought the ultimate in adventure. Growing up on the Isle of Wight, he was taught by his father to sail and climb at an early age. As a teenager he found identity and purpose through both mountaineering and martial arts, which led the young adventurer to the foothills of the mighty Himalaya and a grandmaster’s karate training camp in Japan.
On returning home, he embarked upon the notoriously gruelling selection course for the British Special Forces to join 21 SAS – a journey that was to push him to the very limits of physical and mental endurance.
Then, in a horrific free-fall parachuting accident, Bear broke his back in three places. It was touch and go whether he would ever walk again. However, only eighteen months later Bear became one of the youngest ever climbers to scale Everest, aged only twenty-three. But this was just the beginning of his many extraordinary adventures . . .
Known and admired by millions, Bear Grylls has survived where few would dare to go. Now, for the first time, Bear tells the story of his action-packed life. Gripping, moving and wildly exhilarating, Mud, Sweat and Tears is a must-read for adrenalin junkies and armchair adventurers alike.

Amy (4) Agreed with her brother.

Michael (6) The book is about a man he is a bit shy.

(after telling them about the title)

he is sad and sweaty and likes to play in the mud.

 

11000229If you live in the dark long enough, you begin to forget the light… 

Kori Daniels is a shadow-walker, able to travel instantly from one shadow to another. After weeks of confinement for betraying her boss, she’s ready to break free of the Tower syndicate for good. But Jake Tower has one final job for Kori, one chance to secure freedom for herself and her sister, Kenley, even if it means taking it from someone else….

The job? Recruit Ian Holt-or kill him.

Ian’s ability to manipulate the dark has drawn interest from every syndicate in the world, most notably an invitation from Jake Tower. Though he has no interest in organized crime, Ian accepts the invite, because he’s on a mission of his own. Ian has come to kill Tower’s top Binder: Kori’s little sister.

Amid the tangle of lies, an unexpected thread of truth connecting Ian and Kori comes to light. But with opposing goals, they’ll have to choose between love and liberty..

Michael (6) – It might be a love story, a scary love story.

Amy (4) – It is a sad love story. It has a boy and girl kissing.

 

793399There are only eight breeding female werecats left . . .
And I’m one of them.

I look like an all-American grad student. But I am a werecat, a shape-shifter, and I live in two worlds.

Despite reservations from my family and my Pride, I escaped the pressure to continue my species and carved out a normal life for myself. Until the night a Stray attacked.

I’d been warned about Strays — werecats without a Pride, constantly on the lookout for someone like me: attractive, female, and fertile. I fought him off, but then learned two of my fellow tabbies had disappeared.

This brush with danger was all my Pride needed to summon me back . . . for my own protection. Yeah, right. But I’m no meek kitty. I’ll take on whatever — and whoever — I have to in order to find my friends. Watch out, Strays — ’cause I got claws, and I’m not afraid to use them . . .

Amy: (4) she got attacked by a tiger, no a dog, no a cat, no a bear.

Michael (6) it is about a girl who scratched herself on a tree, It looks like a scary book.

 

 

130624842113. In Jenna Strong’s world, ACID – the most brutal, controlling police force in history – rule supreme. No throwaway comment or muttered dissent goes unnoticed – or unpunished. And it was ACID agents who locked Jenna away for life, for a bloody crime she struggles to remember.

The only female inmate in a violent high-security prison, Jenna has learned to survive by any means necessary. And when a mysterious rebel group breaks her out, she must use her strength, speed and skill to stay one step ahead of ACID – and to uncover the truth about what really happened on that dark night two years ago.

Michael (6) She is a bad guy, who is going to kill someone.  A volcano blew up and she walked through it.

Amy (4) It is a scary story.

 

 

 

 

 

So what do you think?  do you buy books just because of their cover or do you have to read reviews and synopsis first?

 

6 thoughts on “Judging books by their Covers from the view of a 4 and 6 year old.

  1. This is a wonderful post, Jodie! What a fun idea. I love the shy comment about the Bear Grylls cover. I haven’t read any of these books and now I want to. I’m a blurb and first page girl. I’ve never bought a book because the cover is pretty, but a pretty cover does motivate me faster to pick it up off the shelf for a closer look. Thanks for the laughs, great start to my Tuesday.

    • I haven’t been too disappointed from picking up a pretty cover, but I always read the blurb before I read the book, I have to know what to expect. But I have also found some books with horrible covers that have just blown my mind. I don’t think bear would be too shy. lol

Leave a Reply

