Beautiful Danger by Michele Hauf – Review

PARANORMAL ROMANCE

Beautiful Danger

By Michele Hauf

Expected Publication: July 2013

Length: 304 pages

ISBN:0373885741

Series:  In the company of Vampires #1

Publisher: Harlequin 

Source: Gifted for honest review by Harlequin and Netgalley

Genre:  Paranormal Romance

Read If you liked: Anita Blake

images (5)

Synopsis from Goodreads

Could Her Sworn Enemy Lead Her Out of Darkness?

As a member of an ancient order of vampire hunters, Lark has found that eliminating dangerous vampires is about more than duty. It’s personal—a kill for every day her husband was held captive before his death. Staking her prey isn’t a challenge until she confronts Domingos LaRoque. Mad with vengeance and the blood of a powerful phoenix, Domingos tests her skills…and seduces her soul.

Once a talented musician, Domingos can’t escape the constant music in his head…or his need to destroy the werewolf pack that tortured him. Though trusting the hunter ordered to kill him can be his gravest mistake, the dark desires between them can’t be refused. Yet as he and Lark become allies to defeat a mutual threat, loving the enemy may be the ultimate sacrifice.

 
my thoughts

Heart-blue-iconHeart-blue-iconHeart-blue-icon

I actually requested this book after reading a bad review from a blogger, not because I like to review books that I don’t enjoy, but because I was so surprised that a book from Mills & Boon wasn’t enjoyable.   I get that everyone’s taste is different, but I personally love Mills & Boons Books.

Beautiful danger was an enjoyable, short and action packed story.  I loved how Lark’s character was trying to slay vampires to ease her guilt over staking her husband, as well as her soft side in being able to love someone who is so wrong for her.

Domingos character was also unique in which he is a deadly, sexy vampire that is bat shit crazy   mentally disturbed, after being captured by a pack of werewolves and being tortured.

I enjoyed the back and forth fighting between the characters and thought it was a good read, but a couple of things didn’t sit well with me, which were the fact that Lark could love a vampire that was crazy, not that him being disabled is the problem because hell aren’t we all a little crazy?  the problem is that he is even more dangerous when he is having an episode.   If someone was standing in front of me slamming his head into a wall giggling and yelling I would not stop to think oh how sweet I love him so much, I would be thinking WTF?  where is the exit?  There is also a scene where he loses control completely and viciously attacks Lark, which I am so not into the new trend of the Sexy but violent boyfriend. Domestic violence is domestic violence there is no sweet side to it,  But it seems ok that he nearly killed her because he was crazy.  That is just an excuse, if your sister came home with a  black eye and said her boyfriend hit her, but it is ok because he was crazy at the time, would you accept it?

The other part that didn’t sit well with me was they kept talking to themselves, (and not in a crazy way).  I don’t know about you but I am not in the habit of constantly talking to myself.

Anyway overall it was a good read, if you don’t think too hard about the plot.  Which lets face it Mills & Boons are just short escapes, not deep thought-provoking material.

SIGNATURE

9 thoughts on “Beautiful Danger by Michele Hauf – Review

  1. I chuckled a few times through your review. I’m pretty sure I’d have a WTF look on my face in front of an episode like that, but I probably wouldn’t run because running away is the smart-thinking move to make. Are you a Buffy fan? Because later in the series Buffy decides to hate herself a bit by dating someone she partly hates. The pair end up beating the hell out of each other before going at it like angry bunnies. I did not like that at all. My only complaint about the series. Great review, Jodie!

    • ha ha ha, I loved Spike! although yes the beating up and shagging was a bit much lol. the robot doll episode was also a bit creepy…. So to answer your question yes I am a buffy fan. Thanks I am glad you enjoyed my review. I had the same problem with reading 50 shades, I didn’t like christian at all he was just a controlling jerk.

      • I forgot about the robot! I feel the need for a therapeutic Buffy marathon. Oh Christian. Those books hit the stratosphere during my divorce. I was not a member of his fan club for sure.

      • I could so use a buffy marathon lol. I remember buying the box sets on vhs, they cost me $80 a season, now I have to buy them on dvd again. wow I feel old.

  2. Hmmm… I agree, domestic violence is exactly that… I wouldn’t enjoy it either. Hehehe…. Bat Shit Crazy!! Love it! Still, great review, I’m not sure that I would go out of my way to get. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

    Naomi @ Nomi’s Paranormal Palace

  3. LOL I love your comment that this is “a good read, if you don’t think too hard about the plot.” And you know, sometimes all we need is a great escape into a book we don’t have to think too hard about. 🙂 Your comments about Domingo being bat shit crazy, banging his head against a wall while laughing and yelling actually have me intrigued. 😉 I will give this one a chance on a day when I need an escape! 🙂 Thanks for the entertaining review. 🙂

    • no problem, I enjoyed it, I find that when I read a lot of dystopians or paranormal books, sometimes I want a light fun read for a break, this was perfect for that. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  4. Pingback: July Wrap Up | Aussie Bookworm

Leave a Reply

