Sidekick Showcase #2

sidekickshowcase
Sidekick Showcase, previously known as Sidekick Saturday, is a weekly bookish meme, hosted here by Jaclyn at JC’s Book Haven. There are many secondary characters that are as great as the primaries. In some cases, the sidekicks actually steal the show and you like them better than the heroine or hero. Maybe they didn’t have enough page time for how great they were. Anyone can play along! I will post my Sidekicks on Saturday, then whichever day during the week that you would like to post yours, you can put your link in on my page. Just do the following:

• Choose a sidekick *or someone other than the hero or heroine* that you would like to put in the spotlight that fit’s in the week’s topic
• Share a picture (if you can) and information about the character
• Give the title and author of a book the character can be found in
• Please don’t include too many spoilers when describing why the character is such a great sidekick
• The day of your post, put your link in below and grab the code for your post so you can see the others that post their’s throughout the week as well

This Weeks Theme love triangle 

 

If done right, I love the element of the Love Triangle, but for some reason I always like the guy that doesn’t get the girl.  This Week I am going to choose Gale from The Hunger Games, I really dislike Peeta.   Gale has always been there for Katniss and her family.  And I think he should of been the one to end up with Katniss.

“I’m so sorry,” I whisper. I lean forward and kiss him.
His eyelashes flutter and he looks at me through a haze of opiates. “Hey, Catnip.”
“Hey, Gale,” I say.
“Thought you’d be gone by now,” He says.
My choices are simple. I can die like a quarry in the woods or I can die here beside Gale. “I’m not going anywhere. I’m going to stay right here and cause all kinds of trouble.”
“Me, too,” Gale says. He just manages a smile before the drugs pull him back under.”
― Suzanne CollinsCatching Fire

“He tilts his forehead down to rest against mine and pulls me closer. His skin, his whole being radiates heat from being so near the fire, and I close my eyes, soaking in his warmth. I breathe in the smell of snow-dampened leather and smoke and apples, the smell of all those wintry days we shared before the Games. I don’t try to move away. Why should I anyway? His voice drops to a whisper. “I love you.” That’s why.”
― Suzanne CollinsCatching Fire

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Sidekick Showcase #2

  1. These quotes broke my heart all over again! For me, the Katniss from the first book belonged with Gale. But she turned into a Katniss that fit better with Peeta. His very presence offered her the forgiveness her soul needed. At least that’s how the story evolved in my head. This one was a tortured love triangle that’s for sure! I hope your having a great weekend, Jodie!

    • I need to re- read The hunger games as I said before I read them in two days, I didn’t let them sink in and focus on how the characters were changing and the effect they have on each other. I have to read them again before Catching Fire comes out. But I still love Gale lol. have a good weekend.

  2. I love that you buck the system and choose the other guy LOL. I think she belonged with Peeta because he made her want to be a better person and Gale was a little reckless, but Gale made her show such a soft and caring side especially in the quotes that you shared. She truly cared for him and wanted him around. Fantastic choice! He definitely didn’t get enough spotlight or page time in my opinion. Have a great weekend! Jaclyn @ JC’s Book Haven.

    • It could just be me I read the entire series in two days, so I didn’t really absorb the books one at a time. I fell for Gale in book one and then got upset that nothing progressed between them, and even though Peeta survived the hunger games I have always seen him as week and thought that if Katniss hadn’t of been there he would never have made it. Have a good weekend!

  3. Pingback: Sidekick Showcase #3 | Aussie Bookworm

  4. Pingback: Sidekick Showcase #4 | Aussie Bookworm

Leave a Reply

