Earthbound by Aprilynne Pike – Review

PARANORMAL ROMANCE

EarthBound

By  Aprilynne Pike

Expected Publication: August 2013

Length: 353 pages

Publisher: Harper Collins Australia

Source: Gifted by Harpercollins Australia for Review

Genre:  Paranormal Romance

Read If you liked: Fallen


 images (5)

Synopsis from Goodreads

Eighteen-year-old Tavia is the only survivor of a plane crash that killed her parents. Grieving and lonely, she starts having strange visions; of a boy she’s never met but feels compulsively drawn to. A boy who tells her to do things she never dreamed of.

Tavia begins to suspect that secrets are being kept from her, and that her kindly aunt and uncle know more than they are letting on. Was the plane crash really an accident? Or is Tavia part of something bigger than she ever imagined?

With only her instincts and long-time crush, Benson, to rely on, Tavia must decide where her destiny lies, and who with.

 
my thoughts

Heart-blue-iconHeart-blue-iconHeart-blue-iconHeart-blue-iconHeart-blue-icon

Wow, what an amazing start to a new Series.  I enjoyed Aprilynne’s Wings series, But I loved Earthbound.  I loved the colour and design of the cover, it drew me in straight away even though you don’t really get any information about the plot of the novel.

In Earthbound we meet Tavia who is recovering after being the only survivor of a plane crash.  I really liked Tavia she is a strong willed survivor after everything she went through with the plane crash and losing her parents she refuses to give up.  We find out a lot about Tavia through her sessions with her psychologist Elizabeth.  Things start getting strange for Tavia though when she sees a strange man appearing everywhere, even though he seems creepy and stalkerish, Tavia is inexplicably drawn to him as well as having strong feelings for this mysterious stranger.  Tavia’s Best friend is a boy named Benson, he works in a library and you get the feeling he is fighting his feelings for Tavia, and this is proved when he runs away with Tavia and does everything in his power to keep her safe.

Earthbound is a complete mystery from the beginning I found I could not put it down because I had no Idea what the book was about, I didn’t know if it was an angel/ vampire story or a sci fi or just a human psychic story.  Usually if I don’t know what a book is about It frustrates the hell out of me.  I have to read the blurb or get some understanding in what to expect, But Earthbound is so beautifully written that instead of being frustrated I found I was Intrigued.

I love the dynamic between the characters, you don’t know who is a friend and who is an enemy, you are just in the dark as what Tavia is.  It has been a long time since I have read such a unique book, I loved it.

I highly recommend Earthbound to anyone who needs something new and exciting.

 

4 thoughts on “Earthbound by Aprilynne Pike – Review

  1. Ooooh…. Jodie!! You have me intrigued, that’s for sure!! I love the cover too. I want to know what happened, whether it is paranormal or not…. Guess I should read it to find out!! Great, cryptic review 😉

    Naomi @ Nomi’s Paranormal Palace

  2. Pingback: The Sunday post- #1 | Aussie Bookworm

  3. Pingback: August Wrap Up | Aussie Bookworm

Leave a Reply

