Banish by Nicola Marsh – Review

PARANORMAL ROMANCE

Banish

By  Nicola Marsh

Expected Publication: August 2013

Length: 272 pages

Publisher: Harlequin Teen Australia

Source: Gifted by Net galley and Harlequin Australia for Review

Genre:  Paranormal Romance, witches

Read If you liked: Mysteries and Wicca


 images (5)

Synopsis from Goodreads

Alyssa has one week to destroy her enemy, save her spirit… and save her soul.

After her ex-boyfriend commits suicide and her mum’s alcoholism sparks yet another psychotic episode, seventeen-year-old Alyssa Wood flees her small hometown of Broadwater and heads to New York City to stay with her bohemian aunt — a Wicca High Priestess.

Alyssa revels in the anonymity of a big city and her new life. Her grades climb, she has a new best friend, and a new guy: the sexy geek Ronan — a saxophone player who prefers jazz to pop.

But her newfound peace is soon shattered when she sees a dead body in one of Ronan’s music clips — and she’s the only one who can see it. Worse still, Alyssa recognises the body that has been murdered a week forward!

Alyssa doesn’t believe in the supernatural…despite her family’s Wicca background. So how will she overcome evil when it’s closer than she thinks

 
my thoughts

 

Heart-blue-iconHeart-blue-icon

I really, really wanted to enjoy this book, I love Harlequin books and I absolutely loved the cover, but unfortunately Witch stories just don’t do it for me.  I use to follow the Wicca religion and a lot of the Wicca rituals that were written about in the book, I found tedious and drawn out,  although Nicola did do good research on Wicca as a religion, and was not written as an evil practice which I am happy for.

I could not connect with the characters or the plot, There was hardly any Paranormal elements in this story , except for Alyssa’s crazy mother who talks to herself and her Aunt who is seen as crazy as well by Alyssa for being a practicing wiccan.   The Paranormal aspect was just coming to fruition when the story ended which I suppose will be explored in the next book, I am not sure If I will continue the story.

I am not saying that the story was badly written that is not the case at all I think it was well researched and well written it is just me who couldn’t connect, I think someone who is younger, which the book is written for or someone who is interested and loves the witch story line would find this story enjoyable.

signature2

6 thoughts on “Banish by Nicola Marsh – Review

  1. I’m sorry you couldn’t connect with the characters or plot, Jodie. I find that sometimes when a story is written for a younger audience I have trouble connecting too. I hope your next read captivates you! 🙂

  2. I’m not big on witch stories either, but I love how Kim Harrison and Patricia Briggs write their witches. What did you think of all the wicca stuff on True Blood?

    • True Blood was interesting story line, But I did enjoy the Wicca stuff in the books better because they went to war as well as turning boyfriends into cats lol. But It wasn’t the main focus of the book. I haven’t read any Kim Harrison or Patricia Briggs yet.

  3. Oooh…. interesting!! I received this book from Harlequin, and I plan on reading it soon. I don’t mind a witchy book though, so I am willing to give it a crack! But not every book is for everyone and it’s good to see you gave it a crack!

  4. Pingback: August Wrap Up | Aussie Bookworm

Leave a Reply

