Book Discussions – Cyber Bullying

book descussions

Cyber Bullying

I know I am a bit late to this story, but bullying is something that should never be tolerated.  I can’t believe the amount of bullying that has been happening on Good reads lately.   

Now I thankfully have never been  bullied on this site, all my DNF or Low rated reviews, I try my hardest to be straight to the point and honest, without being rude or disrespectful,  That’s not saying that all the bloggers that have been bullied are writing horrible things.  But myself This is my way of writing.  Most Authors pour their heart and soul into writing a book and to be trashed even before anyone has a chance to read it is horrible.  I tried writing a book once I thought I was a great writer growing up always entertaining my family with my writings. Until my twelfth grade English teacher gave me a D (fail) on my story.  I have not written another story again.

People believe that they are anonymous behind their screen and what they wrote doesn’t matter, but bullying is bullying, It is hurtful and so is the saying sticks and stones may break my bones but names will never hurt me.  It is bullshit. words can haunt a lot longer after wounds have healed.  I should know I was bullied the whole time I was at school.

I choose to make my own decisions about people or books,  If I read a bad review, that doesn’t mean that I won’t pick up the book, everyone has different tastes, and if a blogger didn’t like it because of grammar or spelling or editing well then that gives the author a chance to fix it.  I am horrified to read reviews on books from Authors that have long-standing series, people say don’t bother it is crap, but to think these authors have been writing some of these stories for over 20 years, the story line has to change from time to time.

I love Goodreads, and I won’t be stopping using it. But hopefully a policy will be placed on the site for bullies. writers and reviews alike.

7 thoughts on “Book Discussions – Cyber Bullying

  1. This is a great post, Jodie. I haven’t personally experienced cyber-bullying, but did experience bullying during childhood, so I’m well versed in the effects bullying has. I’m been hearing lots about this going on in the cyber world, and GR in particular. I’m continually amazed at what people will say online. Thanks for sharing your feelings about this.

  2. Pingback: Clarifying Between Bullying and Critiquing Book Reviews | Falls Into Writing

  3. I stay as far away from cyber conflicts as possible. There was this one time I thought I was being baited as a new author, but I made the people around me promise not to comment or react at all. I think people who want to fight look for the easiest ways to give them that fix. Too bad it comes at the expense of others. I had a rough time in school too, Jodie. But look at how cool we are now. hehe. I just wrote a bullying post. Must be on our minds.

  4. Pingback: The Sunday post- #2 | Aussie Bookworm

Leave a Reply

