Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter – Review

zombie

Alice in Zombieland

By  Gena Showalter

Expected Publication: September 2012

Length: 404 pages

Publisher: Harlequin Enterprises Australia

Source: Brought from  Kobo App

Genre:  Zombies, Paranormal

 


 images (5)

Synopsis from Goodreads

She won’t rest until she’s sent every walking corpse back to its grave. Forever.

Had anyone told Alice Bell that her entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, she would have laughed. From blissful to tragic, innocent to ruined? Please. But that’s all it took. One heartbeat. A blink, a breath, a second, and everything she knew and loved was gone.

Her father was right. The monsters are real….

To avenge her family, Ali must learn to fight the undead. To survive, she must learn to trust the baddest of the bad boys, Cole Holland. But Cole has secrets of his own, and if Ali isn’t careful, those secrets might just prove to be more dangerous than the zombies….

I wish I could go back and do a thousand things differently.
I’d tell my sister no.
I’d never beg my mother to talk to my dad.
I’d zip my lips and swallow those hateful words.
Or, barring all of that, I’d hug my sister, my mom and my dad one last time.
I’d tell them I love them.
I wish… Yeah, I wish

 
my thoughts

Faviouite

So you all know by now I Judge books by their covers, I loved the title and The cover of this book since I first saw it last year, but for some unknown reason I just never got around to buying it.  I was doing my usual stalk of Harlequin Australia on Friday night and saw the second book in The White Rabbit Chronicles was coming out, So it was the kick in the but I needed to buy this book, and boy I am glad I did.  I ignored everyone on Sunday and read it in one sitting.  (I didn’t even notice that the kids had opened the back door and let my beloved bird fly away :(.  But anyway that is another story)

Alice in Zombie land was nothing like I thought it would be, some bizarre retelling of Alice in wonderland with zombie’s thrown in.  Instead I got a riveting story about a young girl named Alice who lives stuck in her house with her mentally Ill father who is terrified by imaginary monsters.

Alice convinces her father to let them all go to her little sisters dance recital at night, when they are normally never allowed out after dark.  In one tragic moment Alice loses her whole family in a terrible car crash and is thrown into the same madness that her father suffered from.

I love how Gena makes you feel so deeply with Alice, the pain and the loss of her family that turns to Vengeance.  Even the Zombies aren’t what you expect them to be.  Gena’s unique theory is that they are actually infected souls that feed off human souls, and only a few special people can see the monsters.

Alice Teams up with  a Kick ass crew that are also able to see the zombies and train each night to go out and destroy them.

Alice in zombie land is a unique and on the edge of your seat debut for a new series, and I am glad that I held off reading this book so now I won’t be tormented for as long to enjoy Alice through the Zombie glass which is released next month.

 

9 thoughts on “Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter – Review

  1. Talk about judging a book by its cover and title, I never gave this one a single thought because I’m not that big into zombies. Now I really want to read it, Jodie! And I love it when I find a book that I can’t put down and discover the next one in the series is just around the corner. Great review!!

  2. Pingback: The Sunday post- #3 | Aussie Bookworm

Leave a Reply

