Through the Zombie Glass by Gena Showalter – Review

zombie

Through the Zombie Glass

By  Gena Showalter

Expected Publication: October 2013

Length: 448 pages

Publisher: Harlequin Enterprises Australia

Source: Provided by Harlequin Enterprises Australia for review

Genre:  Zombies, Paranormal

 


 images (5)

Synopsis from Goodreads

Inspired by the childhood classic Alice in Wonderland, this harrowing and romantic story features teen zombie slayer Alice Bell who has lost so much—family, friends, her home. After a strange new zombie attack, Alice fears she may be losing her mind as well. A terrible darkness blooms inside her, urging her to do wicked things. The whispers of the dead assault her ears and mirrors seem to come frighteningly to life. She’s never needed her team of zombie slayers more—including her boyfriend, Cole—than she does now. But as Cole strangely withdraws and the zombies gain new strength, Ali knows one false step may doom them all.

 
my thoughts

Faviouite

 

 

I still love and feel for Ali’s Character just when she thinks life has settled down a bit after the murders of her family, Things start unraveling around her again, I really like Ali’s courage and strength in that she doesn’t fall apart (too much) when things go bad, she fights back.

Cole’s character however challenged me, through the first book, I had trouble remembering that he is only supposed to be seventeen he acts and sounds so much more mature that I picture a twenty year old in my head, but in this story, that changed completely and I didn’t really understand it at first, but once I reminded myself that Cole is a teenage boy, then things made more sense, that when Ali has a vision with another visiting slayer Cole freaks out and Insert one hot mess with two different love triangles. I don’t want to give out any spoilers but funny enough with all the relationship angst in this novel it didn’t detract from the story, and reminded me that the characters are teenagers with teenage problems.  In a lot of Y.A novels the protagonist doesn’t seem to act like a teenager at all, this was a refreshing change.

Speaking of Relationship Angst another favorite couple of mine in Alice in Zombieland is Kat and Frosty, We find out the reason why Kat dumps him so often and it is a bit heartbreaking, as Kat’s condition deteriorates she finds that she has to fess up to Frosty about her disease.  I love Kat’s character she is some comic relief  as well as being a awesome, loyal best friend who will do anything to help Ali while she battles her internal zombie, never giving up on her.

Through the Zombie Glass   is being added to my Favorite shelf,  with the story line full of Romance, Zombies, Betrayal, Adventure and heartbreak.  I could not put it down, and I highly recommend it to any one I love the battle of good vs evil especially when the war is being waged on the inside.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Through the Zombie Glass by Gena Showalter – Review

  1. Oh man, this sounds good. I think will make this my first real zombie series even though it’s a different take on zombies. I have to remind myself of the characters’ ages sometimes too, but other times the author uses words no kid would ever say and I have to shake off the author’s age. Great review, Jodie!

  2. Awesome review girl!! I can’t wait to read this now I know how much you enjoyed it. I have to grab Alice in Zombieland first though…. This series sounds so good.

    Naomi @ Nomi’s Paranormal Palace
    sorry I haven’t been around much lately…. sickness, hospital trips all in the school holidays! Yay!

    • that’s understandable, I have been having a busy time too, hard to keep all those balls juggling lol. horrible sicknesses going around at the moment. hope you are all feeling better now though.

  3. Pingback: Book Review: Wicked Nights by Gena Showalter | cyndyrene.com

  4. Pingback: October Wrap Up | Aussie Bookworm

Leave a Reply

