All the truth that’s in me by Julie Berry – Review

young adult

 All the Truth that’s in me

By Julie Berry

Expected Publication: October 2013

Length: 304 pages

Publisher: Harper Collins Australia

Source: Supplied by publisher for Honest Review

Genre: YA

 


 images (5)

Synopsis from Goodreads

Four years ago, Judith and her best friend disappeared from their small town of Roswell Station. Two years later, only Judith returned, permanently mutilated, reviled and ignored by her friends and family.

Unable to speak, Judith lives like a ghost in her own home, silently pouring out her thoughts to her childhood friend, Lucas. He is the boy who has owned her heart for as long as she can remember – even if he doesn′t know it.

But when Roswell Station is attacked, long-buried secrets come to light, and Judith is forced to choose – to continue living in silence, or recover her voice, even if it means changing her world, and the lives around her, forever.

Told in a voice that is achingly raw and intimate, this remarkably original novel will haunt and stay with you. It will fill you with Judith′s passion and longing, and its mysteries will keep you feverishly turning the pages until the very last one

 
my thoughts

Heart-blue-iconHeart-blue-iconHeart-blue-iconHeart-blue-icon

I wasn’t too sure what to think when I started reading this book, it is not my usual genre but I was drawn to the cover and the Title.  First I had trouble getting into reading it because the narration was really off-putting and took me a long time to get use to it.  The truth that’s in me is an emotional historical Y.A Fiction, About a young girl named Judith she talks a lot about a boy she is in love with but because she is younger he hasn’t really noticed her.  One night Judith and a friend go missing, four years later Judith returns but her tongue has been removed.

What I found really heartbreaking and moving is that because Judith’s tongue has been removed she is seen as damaged by the towns people and her mother.  Judith’s mother forbids her to talk because she says she is cursed.  Judith has to live with the shame and scorn from everyone and keep what has happened to her a secret, but even with everyone turning their back against her she still rushes off to help defend her village when it is attacked by outsiders. The story takes a long time to unfold, which for me drives me crazy because I am impatient. I want to know what happened to Judith, but we only find out in bits and pieces throughout the novel, which in the end I thought was great because there is a twist at the end that I didn’t see coming.

There is a small amount of romance in this story as well with the young man who Judith fell in love with as a child, when she returns she finds that he is engaged to be married to another woman.  There is a lot of back and forth because no one knows if Judith’s “virtue” is still intact, plus she is seen as less than and cursed, because of her tongue.

I really enjoyed All the Truth that’s in me. The story was beautiful and heartbreaking and you just felt like giving Judith a big hug and telling her it’s ok. The only reason I am not giving this book a five is because of the narrative but that is my own personal opinion because I love a book to flow easily.

I highly recommend this book.

signature2

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “All the truth that’s in me by Julie Berry – Review

  1. Pingback: The Sunday post- #7 | Aussie Bookworm

  2. Pingback: October Wrap Up | Aussie Bookworm

  3. Pingback: The Sunday post- #8 | Aussie Bookworm

  4. Pingback: The Sunday post- #9 | Aussie Bookworm

  5. Pingback: The Sunday post- #10 | Aussie Bookworm

Leave a Reply

