Cinder by Marissa Meyer – Review

Cinder

By Marissa Meyer

Expected Publication: January 2012

Length: 387pages

Publisher: Puffin

Source: Brought

Genre: Dystopian / sci- fy

 


 images (5)

Synopsis from Goodreads

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future

 
my thoughts

Heart-blue-iconHeart-blue-iconHeart-blue-iconHeart-blue-icon

I was a tiny bit disappointed in this story, but I still did love it.  One of my favorite type of books to read are fairy tale retellings, and Cinder didn’t disappoint with that.  I have had this book on my TBR list for so long, I originally fell in love the cover, and now with three books in the series, so I thought I should make a start with them.

I was not hugely into the cyborg part of the story, although it did make it original.

Cinder had a lot going on, so much to focus on it was a bit crazy, The story was only a slight retelling of Cinderella, and extremely light on the romance, Hopefully in future installments this will changed, since Cinderella is a romance.

I enjoyed the originality of the story, which being a retelling, was a huge plus, between the virus, aliens, cyborgs, hint of romance, action and of course an impending war.  Cinder has everything you could want in a story maybe  just a little too much, but I am looking forward to reading Scarlet.

I recommend this book, for teens or adults of any age it is a wonderful original science fiction story.

signature2

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Cinder by Marissa Meyer – Review

  1. I’ve had this on on my TBR list forever. I even went to listen to Marissa Meyer talk about her book. I’m glad you liked it, but I think the little bit of romance will be frustrating. I can’t help it.

  2. Hey girl… Sorry I haven’t been around in a bit! Hope all is well!!

    I’ve had Cinder and Scarlett on my TBR for ages, I just haven’t got round to them yet either… I’m not sure how I would go with the Cyborg aspect either. And I agree, it’s a romance… we need it, so I hope it picks up too… Great review!!

    Naomi @ Nomi’s Paranormal Palace

    • You really need the romance in a paranormal to even out the heavy subjects, but I enjoyed Cinder for it’s uniqueness but there was so much happening in it. It really is one of those books that you have to leave up to your own opinion.

  3. Pingback: November Wrap Up | Aussie Bookworm

Leave a Reply

