Allegiant by Veronica Roth Review

 

Dystopian 

 

Allegiant review

Author:  Veronica Roth

Published: October 2013

Length: 526 Pages

Publisher: Harper Collins

Source: Brought

Genre: Dystopian

The Synopsis:

The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered—fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature—and of herself—while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.

Told from a riveting dual perspective, Allegiant, by #1 New York Times best-selling author Veronica Roth, brings the Divergent series to a powerful conclusion while revealing the secrets of the dystopian world that has captivated millions of readers in Divergent and Insurgent.

my thoughts

Wow what a great end to the divergent series, although unexpected I still thoroughly enjoyed the journey of Tris and four and I am sad to see the series end, even though it is it’s time, some books I read the last book and I wish so bad that it did not end, I beleive that divergent had to end here, I really odn’t think much more can be done for this series.

 

What I did find unexpected and a little weird was the escape from one dystopian world into another, very big brotherish and I still don’t know what I think of this development.  

I loved Divergent because of the simplicity of the storyline, strong but oppressed teen Tris wants more than what her family and faction can give her, so she transfers to the most dangerous faction. The storyline was excellent following Tris though her induction into Dauntless and her struggles to find herself, Divergent was full of Action difficult choices and a hint of romance.

Insurgent was a bit different all about the uprising of the factions and Rebellion Tris and her friends are in hiding and all their secrets come out under truth serum, full of action, betrayal and romance Insurgent did not disappoint me at all It kept me hanging, and I enjoyed every minute of it.

Which brings me to Allegaint which is basically a whole new story, Tris and the gang escape because there is still a war brewing, people are still not happy, some like the reliability and security of the factions and some do not want to conform to any type of authority other than their own.

Allegiant was a bit slow for me starting, and the 2 pov was a bit confusing to work out who was who, but my biggest gripe is that Four disappeared, Where is my big strong fearless leader gone and why has he been replaced with a sooky crying baby? My god I understand that maybe Veronica was trying to make Tobias look more human, but jeez do not completely change his character, I found Tobias to be annoying and whiney.

Surprising though is the fact that the ending did not faze me at all, It was sad, heartbreaking and stupid, but I was definitely unsurprised by it.

The divergent trilogy will always have a place in my heart, and even though I found Alligiant disappointing, they will never be able to end a series without making everyone happy. I am giving Alligiant four hearts because I still loved it, I loved the ending if only Veronica had not messed with Fours Character.

 

 

Leave a Reply

