Sworn to raise by Terah Edun

 

 

Sworn to Raise

Author:  Terah Edun

Published: April  2013

Length: 265 Pages

Publisher: Amazon Digital

Source: provided by Netgalley for Honest Review

Genre: Fantasy

The Synopsis:

Seventeen-year-old Ciardis has grown up in poverty, a cleaner in a small vale on the outskirts of the empire. But beneath her empire’s seemingly idyllic surface lies a hidden secret. Whispers of an inept crown Prince are growing ever louder—intensified by the five year anniversary of the soulbond initiations.

Amidst scandalous whispers, Ciardis finds herself chosen to train for the Companion’s Guild. She leaves her home and sets off on a personal journey to become a Court Companion. A position she’d never thought possible for a lowly servant to obtain, she must prove that she has the skills to attract a Patron.

But she must master those skills quickly. If the legends are true, only Ciardis can harness the power to raise a Prince in an Imperial Court sworn to bring him down.

This sensational series debut melds intricate storylines with remarkable characters and unforgettable magic. Sworn To Raise is ideal for fans of Kristin Cashore, Michelle Sagara, and Maria Snyder.

 

Heart-blue-iconHeart-blue-icon

 

 I was originally drawn to this book because of the cover, it looked magical as well as elegant, The synopsis was also very intriguing for me.

I would like to state that I am not a huge fan of Magic novels, I really need to be in the mood and they really need to get me involved and keep me intrigued to keep me reading.

Sworn to Raise I found to have good promise in it’s story line but unfortunately I just could not keep interested in this novel, But It was good enough that I did struggle through with finishing it.

The story follows Cardis who is a lowly poor worker trying to survive, along the way she meets a Companion, who is pretty much a prostitute, the young girls are chosen and trained to please gentlemen that wish to have a wife, and or companion.  To be a good companion Magic is a must, Cardis being an orphan doesn’t think that she has any magic, but with the help of another, Cardis finds out that she is special the last in line of one of the most powerful magical families that were thought to be extinct.

I did not connect with Cardis character, I just could not become emotionally involved or deeply connected with Cardis, which is a must for me to enjoy reading a book.

I recommend this book for anyone who enjoys novels based around magic, but it just not for me.

5 thoughts on “Sworn to raise by Terah Edun

  1. I have a hard time with magic themed books too. It wasn’t until the Kate Daniels series that I found I could love it. Have you read that series? Gore, scary freaking vamps, and a hardcore chick. Are you still melting? We had a sunny day here and I was ready to be done with the coats and hats. I hope you have a wonderful weekend, Jodie!

    • I haven’t read them but I will definitely look them up, I would love to be able to read this genre. Still melting up here we have a heat wave going and drought but we woke up this morning to some rain which is nice my 8 week old puppy got so excited because she has never seen it before.

  2. Hehehe – I wasn’t expecting the new look 😀 It’s really neat. I definitely love magic themed books, but the fact that you couldn’t connect with the character really worries me. That’s a must for me as well. I’m with Robyn that you should check out the Kate Daniels series 😀 I can’t say enough good things about that one. Thanks so much for sharing! Jaclyn @ JC’s Book Haven.

  3. Pingback: January 2014 Wrap Up | Aussie Bookworm

Leave a Reply

