Panic review by Lauren Oliver

Y.A Contemporary

Title: Panic

Author: Lauren Oliver

Series: Stand alone

Publisher: Hachette Australia

Source: Supplied by Netgalley for honest Review

The Synopsis

Panic began as so many things do in Carp, a dead-end town of 12,000 people in the middle of nowhere: because it was summer, and there was nothing else to do.

Heather never thought she would compete in Panic, a legendary game played by graduating seniors, where the stakes are high and the payoff is even higher. She’d never thought of herself as fearless, the kind of person who would fight to stand out. But when she finds something, and someone, to fight for, she will discover that she is braver than she ever thought.

Dodge has never been afraid of Panic. His secret will fuel him, and get him all the way through the game, he’s sure of it. But what he doesn’t know is that he’s not the only one with a secret. Everyone has something to play for.

For Heather and Dodge, the game will bring new alliances, unexpected revelations, and the possibility of first love for each of them—and the knowledge that sometimes the very things we fear are those we need the most.

Heart-blue-iconHeart-blue-iconHeart-blue-iconHeart-blue-icon

My Thoughts

I know reviews for this book have been hit or miss, some people hate it and others love it, I was more on the love it side.  Panic is a game that is played in semi secret, Graduating Seniors of Carp embark on a terrifying game that may get you killed the person left standing gains a lot of money and respect, and a chance to make something out of their lives.

Panic is like a Japanese game show but real where everyone is tested to their limits, Heather never expected to take part in Panic, She was smart and sensible but while watching people take part in the initiation she spots her newly ex boyfriend making out with another girl, she decides to show him that she is brave and signs up for Panic.

Dodge is taking part in panic this year for different reasons than everyone else, his sister was one of the contestants to become horribly injured while playing and he is out for revenge, but he quickly forms a bond with Heather and her friends, Natalie and Bishop they become an alliance to be reckoned with, can they change Dodge’s mind before he does something stupid.

I love how this story is based on friendship, betrayal, loyalty, love and bravery. Panic is like a coming of age game for the graduates to prove to everyone and yourself that you can handle everything life throws at you.

Panic also brings out the best and the worst in people, either bringing them together and forming tight bonds or breaking them forever and turning friend against friend.

I love Lauren Oliver’s writing the characters are believable at first Heather is annoying with going on about her breakup but I am guessing I was probably that obsessed too when I was that age.  I feel sorry for Dodge being put in a horrible situation just to be loyal to his sister.

I have read other people reviews in which they are worried thanks to this book “Panic” may become real, but really at the moment people are doing such stupid things and putting their lives at risk for the sake of ten minutes of fame, I really don’t believe that this book will hurt anyone.

I highly recommend this book for anyone who enjoys a good coming of age story or light suspense action stories.

11 thoughts on “Panic review by Lauren Oliver

  1. I actually have this book and I think I will have to get to it sooner rather than later. Dodge sounds like a character I’d like… and I’d like to see him develop his relationship with Heather. Great review Jodie!!

    Naomi @ Nomi’s Paranormal Palace

    • 🙂 It is a different concept which is why I enjoyed it. I loved her delirium series and it is so common for authors to stick to the same genre I was pleasantly surprised. Thanks for dropping by and giving me your thoughts

  2. I probably should have heard of this one, but I haven’t. I thought of the movie Skulls and the hazing my high school used to do right up until I was a freshman. They actually tar and feathered girls it was that bad. I’m glad you enjoyed it. It does look good and I’m with Naomi, Dodge sounds like a character I’d like.

    • Dodge is a very complex character, but I definitely liked him the most, wow tar and feathered I just got mind bullied at my school, but I have heard of Hazing and hadn’t put the two together but I see it now. Thanks for stopping by I am starting you book soon can’t wait.

  3. Pingback: The Sunday post- #13 | Aussie Bookworm

Leave a Reply

