Review from my Shelf #1

Review from my Shelf

I have so many books sitting on my shelf or Kindle That I have never reviewed, so I have decided to start reviewing on once a week, feel free to link up if you wish, I hate how after a while your memory of a book may fade, even your most loved books can fade after a while, this is why I started reviewing in the first place so that I can keep track of what I thought of a story.

My First Book of the shelf is:

 

Title: Pride and Prejudice

Author: Jane Austin

Series: Stand Alone

Publisher:  The modern Library Classics

Source: provided by School

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Synopsis

“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife.”

So begins Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen’s witty comedy of manners–one of the most popular novels of all time–that features splendidly civilized sparring between the proud Mr. Darcy and the prejudiced Elizabeth Bennet as they play out their spirited courtship in a series of eighteenth-century drawing-room intrigues. Renowned literary critic and historian George Saintsbury in 1894 declared it the “most perfect, the most characteristic, the most eminently quintessential of its author’s works,” and Eudora Welty in the twentieth century described it as “irresistible and as nearly flawless as any fiction could be.”

 

My Thoughts

I have never been much of a classic reader, I was forced to read Pride and Prejudice at an age where I was more focused on other things, such as shopping, friends and boys. I still read but I read books that I could relate to.  I have read many great books that I was forced to read in high school, such as Tomorrow when the War began by John Marsden, Flowers in the Attic by V.C Andrews and Romeo and Juliet and great Expectations which I adored all these books and they became favorites. However I was also forced to read some books that I could not stand and Had to force myself to read them such as Pride and prejudice was one of these I don’t know if I was to read it again now I do not know if I would feel the same, I love a strong woman in the stories that I read and I could not relate or find any desirable qualities about the women in this story they were all soft and feminine relying on a male of worth to love them.  Give me a kick arse woman who won’t back down to make a man happy and a woman who can stand on her own two feet any day.

I realize that this is what it was like in those days that women were oppressed but this is why I don’t read too many historical novels, unless they have “barbaric women” such as vikings in them that fight back.

I know Pride and Prejudice is a much-loved story and classic but I don’t believe it will ever be for me to enjoy.

Do you enjoy classics?

3 thoughts on “Review from my Shelf #1

  1. Pingback: The Sunday post- #13 | Aussie Bookworm

Leave a Reply

