Grim Review by Various

Y.A Anthology

Title:Grim

Author: Various

Series: Anthology

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Source: Harlequin for Honest Review

Release Date:  February 25 2014

Add to Goodreads

The Synopsis

Inspired by classic fairy tales, but with a dark and sinister twist, Grim contains short stories from some of the best voices in young adult literature today:

Ellen Hopkins
Amanda Hocking
Julie Kagawa
Claudia Gray
Rachel Hawkins
Kimberly Derting
Myra McEntire
Malinda Lo
Sarah Rees-Brennan
Jackson Pearce
Christine Johnson
Jeri Smith Ready
Shaun David Hutchinson
Saundra Mitchell
Sonia Gensler
Tessa Gratton
Jon Skrovan

Heart-blue-iconHeart-blue-iconHeart-blue-iconHeart-blue-iconHeart-blue-icon

My Thoughts

I usually don’t like reviewing or reading Anthologies because I find that they are usually difficult to separate and the mixture of stories I like and dislike make it hard to rate.  I could not resist getting Grim not only are they retelling of popular fairy tales which I love but they are written by some of the hottest Y.A authors around.  I have not yet looked up the original of some of these stories, some are obvious and some are a bit more obscure but I will be having fun reading the originals.

The Key by Rachel Hawkins

Having a psychic for a mother sucks, but her mother is breaking the rules by doing a reading for kids from school, ashamed that her mother is working as a psychic from their trailer Lana becomes involved in a missing person case.  The Key was a great short story I loved it, it has a Mystery, Romance and horror.

Figment by Jeri Smith – Ready

Figment is a strange story, kind of along the storyline of be careful what you wish for.  Eli’s father a burnt out musician dies and he is left a stuffed toy, not any kind but a spirit that will give you everything you dreamed of as long as he is always with you.  This was a bizarre story but still entertaining, It was a little to weird for me to really get into but I loved how Eli carried his toy around with him everywhere.

The Twelfth Girl by Malinda Lo

Liv wants to be part of the In crowd at her Boarding school so bad, that she will risk everything.  The Twelfth Girl is a creepy story about a girl trying to fit in even though there is something creepy going on with the way the girls get everything they wish for, even when their friends start disappearing.  I really enjoyed this story, High in the creep factor with the whole mysterious popular crew who get away with everything.

The Raven Princess by Jon Skovron

The Raven Princess is about a cursed princess who was accidentally cursed by her mother when she was a baby, Now a raven the princess wishes for a male companion but being a raven kind of messes with her plans so between her mother and herself they put the young suitors to a test to see who can break the curse.  Another great read, this really had me intrigued and with an awesome twist in the story at the end. definitely a must read.

Thinner than water by Saundra Mitchell

This story I unfortunately didn’t enjoy not because of the writing but It dealt with some pretty heavy story lines involving abuse between a father and daughter.

Before the Rose Bloomed: A retelling of The Snow Queen by Ellen Hopkins

This was another disappointing story, written in acts, it is hard to read fluidly.

Beast/ Beast by Tessa Gratton

I enjoyed this beauty and the beast retelling I thought it was beautifully written and wove a magical story.

The Brothers Piggett by Julie Kagawa

This is my favourite story in the whole book, not surprisingly since I am a huge fan of Julie’s but it is a retelling of the three little pigs and it is done wonderfully and a little bit creepy.

Untethered by Sonia Gensler

This was my second favourite story although I did not recognise what the original story was, it was written so beautifully and has a major twist in the end of the story.

Better by Shaun David Hutchinson

This was a surprise as a Sci fi retelling of a fairy tale Pip was created to cure a disease that is affecting their spaceship, The dr did such a good job in creating her that she struggles with the fact that she is not real. It has great moral undertones and wonderfully written and very enjoyable.

Light it up by Kimberly Derting

Light it up is a modern retelling of Hansel and Gretel, I really enjoyed reading this extremely spooky retelling, with brother and sister being lost in the woods they come across a ranger station thinking they have been saved. This story stayed with me late into the night.

Sharper than a serpents tongue by Christine Johnson

This is another story that didn’t sit well with me, as a pay off for not telling about sexual harassment Clara is rewarded by an old witch with every time she talks flowers and jewels drop from her lips, pretty creepy but it gets worse.  This story felt a bit rushed, and didn’t live up to its potential.

A real boy by Claudia Gray

A real boy is another Sci-fi story which I was surprised with Claudia Gray stepping out of her usual stories, I really enjoyed this one full of human ethics and moral issues, This is a must read, it would definitely make a great full length novel.

Skin Trade by Myra McEntire

This was a very short story but extremely creepy, It would have been better if it could have been a tad longer.

Beauty and The Chad by Sarah Reese Brennan

This story was more amusing than scary you can be forgiven for thinking this story would be kind of dumb because of the name, I did but I really did enjoy it, The Beast or The Chad is a modern-day cursed guy who has been put in a magical world in a historical setting.  I found this story to be surprisingly entertaining especially after all the creepy skin crawling stories.

The Pink A Grimm Story by Amanda Hocking

Another disappointing story it didn’t really have too much in it, which I found sad I was expecting a lot from this one.

Sell Out by Jackson Pierce

This story was an original take on The whole Snow white story, from a male perspective it is his job to kiss dead people for a living. I wished this story was longer, It really felt that it could be made into a full length novel.

Overall

Even with some stories being hit and miss I Still thoroughly enjoyed the book enough to rate it 5 hearts, I would highly recommend it for anyone who loves retelling.  I also loved that I am now interested in reading other stories from these authors, some of whom I have never heard of, but thanks to this book I believe I might have found some new authors to stalk  Admire.

5 thoughts on “Grim Review by Various

  1. Pingback: The Sunday Post #15 | Aussie Bookworm

Leave a Reply

