Kahayatle by Elle Casey #review

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00050]Title: Kahaytle

Author: Elle Casey

Series: Apocalypsis

Publisher: Independant

Source: Netgalley as part as a Anthology

Release Date:  June 25 2012

Add to Goodreads

The Synopsis

My name’s Bryn Mathis. I’m seventeen years old, and I live in a neighborhood outside of Orlando, Florida. I live alone because my dad died almost a year ago, along with all the other adults in the world. I’m almost out of food and the gangs of kids that roam around my town are getting more vicious by the day. 

It’s time for me to leave and find another place to live … a place where I can find food and shelter … a place where they won’t be able to find me. 

Alone, it might have been possible; but now I’ve got company. I’m worried that I don’t have what it takes to get from here to my final destination. 

And I have no idea what might be waiting for me when I get there

Heart-blue-iconHeart-blue-iconHeart-blue-iconHeart-blue-iconHeart-blue-icon

My Thoughts

 

 

Bryn never took her dad seriously when he was prepping and training her for the end of the world, now she will never get the chance to thank him.  A virus has wiped out anyone over the age of puberty in the world.  Children are left to fend for themselves, Once the food runs out, they have no means of survival, except for viscous gangs of children who survive by catching weaker children and resorting to cannibalism.

After these gangs arrive in Bryns town, she decides it is time to go, along with a neighbor that she has reluctantly picked up they will undertake a huge journey to the Everglades where they are hoping that the gangs will stay in towns, and away from the swampy land of the Everglades.

At times Kahaytle is terrifying, funny, and thought provoking , in a unique world where children have to survive without adults to look after them, cook for them love them and teach them right from wrong.  It will leave you on the edge of your seat wanting more I highly recommend this book.

Leave a Reply

