The Fault in our stars by John Green

young adult

 

The fault in our stars review

Author: John Green

Published: January 2012

Length: 318 Pages

Publisher: Dutton Books

Source: Brought

Genre: Y.A

The Synopsis:

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

my thoughts

Wow this book gave me a book hangover, I finished it last night and I am still thinking about it.

Hazel is a sixteen year old girl that has cancer, a wonder drug has given her a few more years of life, which Hazel now has to determine how to use them.  Hazels parents force her to go to a support group for teens which turns out to be the best thing for her, she meets her friend Issac who has cancer in his eyes and struggles to cope with losing his eyesight, and Gus who has bone cancer and has lost his leg.

This story may be from Hazel’s point of view but really we are getting a feel of everyone’s stories, from Gus and Isaacs struggles to the parents and their struggles to accept that their children will not be around forever.

The fault in our Stars is a heartbreaking, raw and original I bawled my eyes out. Each character stood out and I became emotionally involved with each character, including Hazels parents.

I highly recommend this book for anyone, it is a perfect mix of humor, heartbreak and romance.

 

 

10 thoughts on “The Fault in our stars by John Green

  1. I’ve had this book sitting on my bookshelf for quite awhile, Jodie. I guess I’ve needed to be in the mood for a tear jerker. But I really can’t wait. I’m so glad it moved you so much…the hallmark of an excellent book. 🙂 Great review!

    I like your new look! Happy New Year!

    • Thanks Brandee, I have also had this book on my shelf for a while, and although it is a tearjerker, it has its humerous and romantic parts as well which kinda evens it out, you should really get it out and read it. :
      ) happy new year! i am glad you like my new look.

  2. Oh no, I’m too wussy. I’ve been dancing around this one forever. I just know I’ll cry so much the boys will freak out like the last tearjerker I read. Will told me to stop reading the book. Next time I need to get it all out, I will choose this one. I have to after your review. I hope you had a wonderful start to the year. Mine was rocky, but with kids you put them and the bad day to bed and start over in the morning with fresh hugs and kisses, right? Happy New Year, Jodie!!

  3. This book is very heartbreaking; I agree. Even if I didn’t cry. but I’ve only ever cried in three books, so I have deducted that it takes a lot for me to cry over a book (which is weird because I cry over movies and TV shows very easily, haha!). I like that Green was able to infuse humour in such a sad story, though.
    Are you excited about the movie?

  4. Pingback: Book Review: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green | Books and Iced Coffee

  5. Pingback: January 2014 Wrap Up | Aussie Bookworm

Leave a comment